Powered by Outside

Got Any DH Questions? Ask Them Here

PB Forum :: Downhill
Got Any DH Questions? Ask Them Here
Posted: May 22, 2018 at 4:54 Quote
Hello, I'm just looking for some advice. I've been riding and racing for about 6 years now. I've found I plateaued with my results a few years ago, aside from a couple of strong results here and there. I've got quite a high skill level and fitness level but that doesnt seem to tally up with my results. I'm pretty sure it has to do with my vision. When i race or try going fast I let my head drop and draw my vision in much closer. Hence it feels fast but its not really and I don't actually feel I've applied all of my skills as I'm not getting set up for obstacles in time. It actually feels incredibly frustrating as I never feel like I'm flowing through a section.

I think half of the problem is that I became obsessed with having perfect technique in cornering and rock gardens, etc instead of just going as fast as I could and seeing what happened. So, I have good technique but I struggle to make the most of it. I've been doing it so long that I'm really struggling to break the habit. Anyone have any tips?

Posted: May 22, 2018 at 5:39 Quote
A familiar track, mediocre speed and 100% focus on looking ahead is the answer. Go do it until you can't do it anymore and then some more. As the old saying goes, practice makes perfect and in this case this is perfectly true. You need to make it a basic riding habit of yours through practice.
Once that is done, apply it to other tracks.

Posted: May 22, 2018 at 5:40 Quote
Attach a bungee cord from your visor, over the top, and to the back of your shorts.. Would definitely bring your head up!

In all seriousness just try to mentally break the habit by consciously thinking about it, same as posture correction. perhaps doing exercises that strengthen the back of the neck would help too?

Posted: May 22, 2018 at 6:36 Quote
Bromaphobe wrote: