Powered by Outside

The 650B movement.

Posted: Jul 28, 2013 at 15:55 Quote
tylerthegiant wrote:
So cal all your bikes are sexy! What do you do for work? So I can join what ever you do and make some money !
Haha. I'm a contractor, I went to school & it payed off...What a concept!

Posted: Jul 28, 2013 at 15:57 Quote
Lol! Even your 250r is awesome. I want to get into plumbing. Just need to go take some math classes.

O+
Posted: Nov 15, 2013 at 17:46 Quote
my 650Blur conversion is underway.. picked up a relatively inexpensive rear wheel, Nukeproof Generator, and popped on a 2.2 WTB Wolverine.. fits the Blur rear triangle with room for mud.. (okay, only a bit o' mud, but, whatever) .. seriously, the clearance is good, remembering that this is a conversion... thanks to smokan (??) or something close for the tip on the Wolverine.. I have been running WTB Weirwolves on another bike, great tires.. anyways.. I also picked up a 650b specific fork off the PB buy and sell and the plan is to run a 2.3 or so up front.. am dropping the travel from a 150 mm Float off my 26 to a 140 mm Talas to keep the axle to crown measurement close.. the actual difference in OD tire dimension from a 2.2 Conti. Mtn King on my 26 er. to the Wolverine is 1 and 1 / 4 inch.. so the plan is to drop
5 / 8 " of spacer, 10 mm or so, off the stem, so the ground to stem measurement will be identical.. then, if I can find the coin, the plan is to buy a new crank adding a minimum of 5 mm to the crank arm, so I can drop the seat height 5 mm as well to replicate the ground to seat measurement off my 26 er.. I expect to be within 1/4 " after doing this.. BBH is going to rise, no question, but the plus side to this is better ground clearance (never a bad thing if you have the SC VPP grease nipples just looking for rocks), and fewer pedal strikes.. anyways, if it doesn't work out, or I don't like the ride, watch for cheap parts in the buy and sell.. or if it does, watch for cheaper yet 26 " parts ..