Powered by Outside

Flats or Clipped?

PB Forum :: Downhill
Flats or Clipped?
Posted: Jan 16, 2008 at 14:33 Quote
I would have SPDs now, if it weren't for me needed to spend money on other things.

I think the problem is that freeriders are naive.

Posted: Jan 16, 2008 at 14:33 Quote
Actually I'm going to say that I'll run flats on some tracks, but these tracks are super smooth, with massive wide and off-camber turns. Sure there's a lot of pedaling but it's longer to clip back in, that's the only downfall.

O+
Posted: Jan 16, 2008 at 14:41 Quote
Perssonally I run spds. What it gets down to is better pedaling eficiancy. Once you are clipped in you dont have to worry about your feet pattering all over the place. You can concentrate more on your lines. As for the people who think clipless is suicide, they are complete noobs. Not saying that all people who use flats are noobs. There are great dh riders that are on flats. What it gets down to is the day's conditions. Perssonally I am a clip man, when I evolved from flats there was no turning back.

Posted: Jan 17, 2008 at 1:36 Quote
I have a phobia about getting stuck (hence why I cant wear a ring on my finger), just the thought of clipless freaks me out. I can snowboard though, i think its because i know its just 4 buttons to get out, and snow is softer than treestumps... Whereas clipless, there are lots of panic moments clipping-out-wise and moving your feet around is part of manouveuring your bike.

Posted: Jan 17, 2008 at 3:51 Quote
Yes moving feet around is part of moving your bike around, but with clipless you soon learn to do just that. And it is infact easier being that you are attached better and can move the bike more.

That is a shame about the phobia. What does your missus say?

Posted: Jan 17, 2008 at 4:06 Quote
MadMike2007 wrote: