PB Forum :: USA - East
BROKE my leg BAD
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
O+
Posted: Jun 30, 2011 at 16:04 Quote
broke my tib and fib

Posted: Jun 30, 2011 at 16:29 Quote
Id suggest just to start with some trail riding and just slowly build back your confidence. If you're too scared, then dont bother trying something because most likely you will get hurt again.

Posted: Jun 30, 2011 at 18:55 Quote
getting old sucks!
I had a very bad, similar accident that ending my competitive skiing career many years ago. 10 months of rehab and phys therapy. It took two seasons for me to fully return to full speed runs on skis- now I am ok but my first turns after surgery were SCARY. I felt like a total beginner, but I worked myself up slowly over two months, skiing longer, more runs, or trying a black diamond when there were good conditions.
Once you get clearance to ride, get back on that bike, even just to ride down the street! Work your way back up to some smaller jumps. Don't go out and try the biggest drops first.
As you get older you'll find your self-preservation feeling kicks in too. I don't ride the crazy stuff like I used to since I have been married- it's all part of that nasty "R" word..... responsibility.

Posted: Jun 30, 2011 at 18:57 Quote
giving something up to not get hurt isn't a bad thing if your done with it than your done
I have stopped doing many things in my old age to not be busted all the time
the old saying get back on the horse isn't the best thing because chances are you will fall off again
so give it some time if you go back than fine if you don't its no big deal its just a bike

O+
Posted: Jun 30, 2011 at 18:58 Quote