Diagnosing and fixing a wobbly crankset

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Diagnosing and fixing a wobbly crankset
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Oct 1, 2012 at 12:30 Quote
I've noticed a wobble in my front chainring. I'm trying to figure out the cause of the problem.

My chain snapped when I was riding across down and had to dump it at a shop to have it replaced. The mechanic showed me the wobble and said it probably caused the break. He said it was a problem with the chainring, I believed him, and swapped it. Problem not solved.

I'm guessing the issue is with the bearings, or maybe with the spider arms. Does anyone have advice for diagnosing the problem?

I'm pretty new to bike repair - teaching myself to fix things rather than pay someone else.

Thanks!
T

Posted: Oct 1, 2012 at 15:51 Quote
i think the first step is to determine if its A) your crank arm, B) bottom bracket, or C) possibly and prob not likely maybe your chain ring (s).
Some info would help... do you know what set-up you have? Brand or model? there are a few possibilities all designed and assembled differently.
\in any case, grab your crank arm firmly and give it a "wobble check". check your crank bolts are tight. check your chain ring bolts are all tight and might not hurt to at least visually inspect your bottom bracket and see if you see any signs of it being loose. If the crank bolts are loose you may get away with just tightening them, but if you rode far on loose crank arm the spline is prob not in the best of shape. \if the bearings in the BB are loose youll neeed a new BB but may get away with using the same crank arms if you buy the same interface.
\i\ve never had a chain ring come loose but its possible.
hope that helps a bit,maybe give you a place to start

Posted: Oct 1, 2012 at 16:24 Quote