Arizona trip any locals got tips?

PB Forum :: USA - West
Arizona trip any locals got tips?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Feb 5, 2013 at 19:33 Quote
hey everyone, Im coming to arizona april 15th. going to check out the desert/ grand canyon.

buuuut being a mtbr like you all I was wondering about the riding there! I have heard there is alot of freeride near phoenix.

the only place Ive found for lift access riding is sunrise mtn. but all the youtube vids are kinda old.

I guess Im just wondering if there is any dirtjumps/ freeride stuff that isnt private, I know there is a tonne of XC but I dont own an xc bike.

am I better off just talking with bike shops in the area (cactus bikes ) just because I see they rent DH bikes, there must be good stuff to ride in the desert Smile

Posted: Feb 25, 2013 at 9:09 Quote
There are some great mtb trails all around the Phoenix valley area. I'm pretty new to the sport but have been getting some good exposure from some of the people I've found to ride with here. McDowell Mountain Regional park is about 45 min outside of town and has some great singletrack, but there are trails all over the place. I got connected with the people at AZ outback adventures, a great bike rental place that does tours/guided rides too. They know mtb really well and are great people. Could tell you lots more about the trails around etc. aoa-adventures.com/bikes/index.html

Posted: Feb 25, 2013 at 17:47 Quote
thanks for the helpful info !

Posted: Feb 27, 2013 at 8:18 Quote
I justspent 5 days inKingman Az and hadalot of fun riding just out town at Monolith gardens and Badger mtn trails. Mono was a nice loop easy pedal up with a 12 min decend..Very fun .And Badger mtn was also easy pedal up and and great decend more technical, fast and Icould do that all day. I have some video of both I will be posting when I get back home. Worth spending 1/2 of a day and you could do both trails there only 3-4 miles from each other.
GEO

Posted: Mar 1, 2013 at 6:58 Quote