Help me finda bike

PB Forum :: Beginners
Help me finda bike
  • Previous Page
Posted: Jan 7, 2008 at 6:34 Quote
Hi,

Im looking into getting a new bike.

A bit about me and my riding style...
-I am relatively new to mountain biking (not a newb, but still not a pro)
-I just sold my trek 4300 to my friend (I really liked it, but needed the money at the time)
-I ride mostly on the road 70%(transportation and just to mess around with friends, nothing serious) and trail ride 30%

I want to spend upto 700-800 or so. I kind of out grew the trek. It was completely stock, but I figured it would be better to buy a new bike than to buy that one.

I dont mind buying an older model from the LBS. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Posted: Jan 7, 2008 at 8:48 Quote
i have an 08 kona shred that i bought for $650 and its an amazing bike real solid, and i havent had to do any major fixes. i would deffinitely suggest it.

O+
Posted: Jan 7, 2008 at 16:34 Quote
get a specialized p1 or p2

Posted: Jan 7, 2008 at 16:39 Quote
kona shred
kona stuff
p2cro-mo
these are great bikes for you.

Posted: Jan 7, 2008 at 23:48 Quote
norcoID wrote:
kona shred
kona stuff
p2cro-mo
these are great bikes for you.

I have been thinking of....
norco bigfoot (a bit more than my budget)
Norco Wolverine
specialzed p2
kona shred
giant stp

But my question is, how good are they on the trails. I really ride on the street because I have to, but love to ride the trails.

Posted: Jan 8, 2008 at 0:05 Quote
What I would do is hit up your lbs's and see what they have leftover in last years models.You might be able to get a killer deal on something, or at least get an idea of what's available.

Posted: Jan 8, 2008 at 7:55 Quote
aniyn wrote:
What I would do is hit up your lbs's and see what they have leftover in last years models.You might be able to get a killer deal on something, or at least get an idea of what's available.