New to downhill biking need help with my bike..

PB Forum :: Downhill
New to downhill biking need help with my bike..
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Nov 13, 2013 at 18:39 Quote
I'm new to downhill biking and I have a Scott gambler 20 with fox 40 fork my ? Is, how do u clean this bikes and forks what's the basic maintenance and is this a good starter bike.. Also I will be racing in 2 weeks is this bike good for racing...

Posted: Nov 13, 2013 at 20:42 Quote
Lots of ways to clean it
Personally I'm lazy and ride year round so bikes gets lots of water anyways it gets a pressure washer from a few feet away
This will ruin bearings substainally faster than other methods
Some use cleaners and rags some use a hose and rags some people just don't care and don't wash it.
I'd rather replace all pivots and bearings and wash my bike after every ride in 20 sec than take a ton of time cleaning it after every ride and do bearings and pivots every 18 months-2years. WD40 on the chain regularly and clean it really well then lube it up good.
A skipping chain and dirty bike just drive me crazy.
As far as is the bike good for DH - never ridden one so my opinion is irrelevant

Posted: Nov 13, 2013 at 20:47 Quote
Damnit hit enter before I was done

Maintaince: keep drivetrain clean and lubed. fork will need servicing regularly esp. When u start racing fOx 40s have one of the quickest servicing intervals as far as I know like 25 hrs of riding if I remember? Someone will correct me if I'm wrongif your handy u may want to learn how to do it yourself.

FL
Posted: Nov 13, 2013 at 22:19 Quote
thats a good platform for a person new to dh, do you have full specs?

Posted: Nov 14, 2013 at 22:21 Quote
SoKvlt wrote:
thats a good platform for a person new to dh, do you have full specs?
2010 Scott Gambler frame
2011 Fox 40 RC2 World Cup edition, recently rebuilt
Fox RC4 rear shock
Hope hubs front and rear, laced to Mavic 729 rims.
Chris King Headset
Avid Elixir CR with carbon levers,