Suggestions for an All Mtn Bike for the girlfriend?

PB Forum :: Beginners
Suggestions for an All Mtn Bike for the girlfriend?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
O+ FL
Posted: May 13, 2014 at 17:07 Quote
Hey guys!

First actual forum post on PB, sorry if this is in the wrong section or if I missed a bigger thread with help!! Also, I am new to mountain biking so I may not have the right technical terms or something haha.

I am looking at getting an all mountain bike for my girlfriend. My budget is $1000 and am looking to get something that is a bit more leaning toward downhill but still able to pedal uphill with enough ease. For comparison to what I'm looking for, I am looking for something that is comparable to the 2011 Trek Scratch Coil 8 which is what I am getting (although her's doesn't have to be coil, just something similar in terms of downhill and uphill performance). All in all we will be riding Trestle bike park in Colorado about 60% of the time and then in Fruita/moab and other similar terrain the other 40% of the time.

So far I have been looking at the Giant Reign for her, which I heard is similar although in my price range I can only get maybe an 08 model which I've heard is on the heavy side.

Thanks for any info!

Posted: May 13, 2014 at 18:35 Quote
I've gotten a few of my lady friends into riding (my girl and her friends).

What we looked for and in no particular order.

-Top tube height. All of them wanted a lower top tube with a bit of stand over. I think this was a mental thing as it seems easier to bail with a lower TT.

-Weight, the bikes needed to be pedal-able but handle what ever whistler could throw at them.

-Top tube length

-Ease of maintenance... ok well I'll admit that was because I know if something broke.. it's me who has to fix it.. so I don't wanna be messing about with a bunch of a fancy bits.

-Single crown fork