Anyone else riding the new DB8 ?

PB Forum :: Diamondback
Anyone else riding the new DB8 ?
  • Previous Page
Posted: May 14, 2015 at 7:42 Quote
Got my DB8 in February and stared at it longingly until Highland opened a few weeks ago. Now that I have a few days on the bike I am really loving it. Still getting used to everything. This is my first time on a DH bike and first time on flat pedals.

Was wondering who else is riding this bike and looking to hear stories and experiences, as well as any upgrades you felt have made this bike even better.

Posted: May 26, 2015 at 10:23 Quote
i got mine in January, but i'm still waiting for the lifts to spin here in CO. I've only got a couple light runs on it so far but the bike feels dialed. the only out of the box upgrades i did were the brakes, i put Zee's on cause deore's just won't hold up to DH use and i swapped to my default spank spike pedals. i'd be interested to hear what you think about the Honeybadger DH tires, they just look kind of wimpy to me...

Posted: May 26, 2015 at 19:48 Quote
I also really want to upgrade to zee brakes. I upgraded to RT86 ice tech rotors and sintered pads though. So far I have no issues with the deore brakes. I will note that the runs I make at Highland MTB Park are probably nowhere near the length of what you ride in CO.

No complaints really about the tires yet. That being said, I have nothing to compare them too. I can definitely say they aren't the fastest tires in the rolling resistance category but I also had to get used to the smaller diameter wheels as well coming from riding only a 29er trail bike previously. I am a huge fan on my Michelin wild grip'r 2 tires on my 29er so I was thinking of trying the Wild rock'r 2 on this bike after reading up on them. I know they are only 2.35 but I'm only riding bike park not too much technical or grarly DH yet. And usually the Michelin tires fill out pretty wide I think on the 31mm rims they will be pretty good.

O+