How to lower Argyle 318

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
How to lower Argyle 318
Posted: Jul 2, 2009 at 18:00 Quote
if i do this with my fork, will it ,lower it to 70mm of stantions showing?

when u bought it i had asked for it to be lowered, they said they did but they did something wierd, there is 100mm of stantions showing, but only goes down 80mm?

is this what your explaining, or what i wanted?

Posted: Jul 2, 2009 at 18:58 Quote
it lowers your axle to crown length so yes it does lower the amount of stantion showing on the fork it self as well as the amount of travel the fork goes through obviously.

Posted: Jul 2, 2009 at 19:59 Quote
thanks, although i dont understand how this will lower it, considering ur not cutting the springs or anything. but adding more spacers in?

yes i know i seem like a complete noob.

Posted: Jul 2, 2009 at 21:23 Quote
pocket-change wrote:
thanks, although i dont understand how this will lower it, considering ur not cutting the springs or anything. but adding more spacers in?

yes i know i seem like a complete noob.

It is impossible to explain unless you have seen it a part already, but once you do it you will totally understand. You are adding spacers, but at the bottom, and removing one from the top. Also, get a velvet washer, it will keep you from having a klunking sound after you lower the fork, it goes between the fork and the cap. Hope this helps.

Posted: Jul 2, 2009 at 21:40 Quote
thanks, i plan to try it tomorow, but im sorta nervouse and dont wanna f*ck it up,

this will lower the amount of stantions showing,?

can you explain what is already done to my fork then,
it was susposed to be lowered, but apparently done in such a way i still see 100mm, but only goes down 80?

whats the difference between what this is and whats already done to mine? and will i have to move anything else around since this has been done

sorry to be a bother

Posted: Jul 2, 2009 at 21:45 Quote