Shimano m506 brakes

PB Forum :: Bikes, Parts, and Gear
Shimano m506 brakes
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jul 16, 2017 at 22:06 Quote
Hey guys,

I recently purchased a rocky mountain intinct 930 with shimano deore m506 brakes on it. They were quite good until i started riding some steeper and burlier trails. Then I quickly realised that my brakes were getting softer fast, and I couldn't figure out the problem. So I took her into the shop and the owner just replaced my brake pads, which were in perfectly good shape. I didn't think much of it at the time, but when I went to opening at our local lifted hill, which houses much steeper and burlier trails than my backyard mountain, it essentially killed my brakes. Anyone know how I can avoid this?

Thanks,

Isaac

O+
Posted: Jul 17, 2017 at 2:53 Quote
A few options of varying cost.

Free: brake less. I'm only partially joking. Allot of people drag their brakes so try lay of them and you'll get less heat in them.

Low cost: Larger rotors if you can. I don't know what you have just now but 203 front an 180mm rear is a good setup for DH riding. If you can go Shimano Ice tech and finned brake pads that will help with heat management.

Expensive option: New brakes. The Deores are a good brake but they aren't a DH brake and where they fall down is heat management. Some Zee's would be a good upgrade for DH.

Posted: Jul 17, 2017 at 5:47 Quote
Shoe2190 wrote:

Free: brake less. I'm only partially joking. Allot of people drag their brakes so try lay of them and you'll get less heat in them.

Low cost: Larger rotors if you can. I don't know what you have just now but 203 front an 180mm rear is a good setup for DH riding. If you can go Shimano Ice tech and finned brake pads that will help with heat management.

Expensive option: New brakes. The Deores are a good brake but they aren't a DH brake and where they fall down is heat management. Some Zee's would be a good upgrade for DH.

Thanks for the response.