Wheelsets bang for the buck

PB Forum :: Bikes, Parts, and Gear
Wheelsets bang for the buck
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Aug 7, 2017 at 10:33 Quote
I am fairly new to tinkering with bikes (as opposed to buy it, ride it). Wheelsets are overwhelming. I deal with mechanical devices every day at work and believe there are a couple of key price price points.

1) Do not purchase below "X" dollar amount
2)Above "Y" gets you really nice features such as.....
3)The difference between price "A" and price "B" will not be noticed by most riders.

I want to upgrade my wheels. I don't need super high end but I want nice. I have no clue where to even start looking or what to budget???? I typically ride all mountain 29". One bike to do it all. Right now I ride a Canfield Nimble 9.

Thanks

Posted: Aug 7, 2017 at 11:59 Quote
Jr1776 wrote:
I am fairly new to tinkering with bikes (as opposed to buy it, ride it). Wheelsets are overwhelming. I deal with mechanical devices every day at work and believe there are a couple of key price price points.

1) Do not purchase below "X" dollar amount
2)Above "Y" gets you really nice features such as.....
3)The difference between price "A" and price "B" will not be noticed by most riders.

I want to upgrade my wheels. I don't need super high end but I want nice. I have no clue where to even start looking or what to budget???? I typically ride all mountain 29". One bike to do it all. Right now I ride a Canfield Nimble 9.

Thanks

Tough question - "Nice" is subjective depending on who you ask. I guess the bigger question is - what are your goals for the wheelset?

I'd probably start with Stan's MK3 wheels and poke around their website to see what you need (i.e. Crest, Arch, Flow, etc...)