Budget Full Suspension recommendations

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Budget Full Suspension recommendations
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jul 20, 2021 at 13:11 Quote
Hey all. I've ridden a norco wolverine for the last 15 years or so. I've decided to move up to a full suspension. I'm no pro and ride mainly trails. I also have a budget of about 4 grand Canadian to spend (adding taxes to that on top of the 4 grand). With that in mind I'm looking for some opinions. The bikes I can easily get (pending shipping so like next spring) are specialized, giant, and trek. Norco is also available but the shop cannot guarantee any shipping dates or timelines for norcos. Ive been looking at the Giant trance x 2, specialized comp alloy, and the trek fuel ex 5 or 7. I'm leaning towards the giant as it has a fox 36 rhythm which I've read can go to a grip 2 damper, which is attractive as I tend to be hard on suspension. But what I've read, the specialized is a sweet ride. But will I end up regretting the smaller fox 34 rhythm, I don't know. As for the treks, I really don't know much about them. I also like the giants component package is a bit beefier too. All this to say, looking for any input from people who have experience on these bikes, and if anyone has anything else to recommend, I'm all ears.

Posted: Jul 22, 2021 at 3:51 Quote
Your general location and local terrain may be a valuable factor in providing recommendations.

Posted: Jul 22, 2021 at 14:02 Quote
maxxx wrote:
Your general location and local terrain may be a valuable factor in providing recommendations.

Manitoba. Pembina valley area. Mostly single track, packed trails. Nothing huge.

Posted: Aug 25, 2021 at 6:20 Quote
friesen-brett wrote:
maxxx wrote:

Manitoba. Pembina valley area. Mostly single track, packed trails. Nothing huge.

Greetings fellow flatlander! (last name should have been a giveaway haha)

Posted: Aug 25, 2021 at 7:44 Quote