DJ sizing advice for an Enduro Rider

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
DJ sizing advice for an Enduro Rider
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
FL
Posted: Jun 7, 2022 at 8:45 Quote
Sizing advice:

Hi guys, I'm after my first DJ in about 8 years but unsure on sizing. I have been riding enduro since selling my DJ (2012 Dartmoor 26player).

I'm around 5ft 8/9. My current mtb is a Transition Spire Medium (29er enduro bike) with a reach of 450mm and effective top tube of 580mm. Wheel base is 1259mm.
Those numbers may seem huge but the bike fits perfect and feels a hell of a lot smaller than it should.

So my issue is sizing charts probably say I need a medium frame however considering my background in enduro, not sure if I'd feel more comfortable on a large (the gemoetry on enduros are obviously way longer than DJs)? The bike I'm looking at is a Santa Cruz Jackal in L

Any got some advice? Expensive mistake if it doesn't feel comfortable either way.

I think I'm a bit old and bodies a bit battered for tricks so mainly just looking to flow through some trails more than anything.

Cheers guys.

Alyn

O+
Posted: Jun 7, 2022 at 10:27 Quote
AlynPawlin wrote:
Sizing advice:

Hi guys, I'm after my first DJ in about 8 years but unsure on sizing. I have been riding enduro since selling my DJ (2012 Dartmoor 26player).

I'm around 5ft 8/9. My current mtb is a Transition Spire Medium (29er enduro bike) with a reach of 450mm and effective top tube of 580mm. Wheel base is 1259mm.
Those numbers may seem huge but the bike fits perfect and feels a hell of a lot smaller than it should.

So my issue is sizing charts probably say I need a medium frame however considering my background in enduro, not sure if I'd feel more comfortable on a large (the gemoetry on enduros are obviously way longer than DJs)? The bike I'm looking at is a Santa Cruz Jackal in L

Any got some advice? Expensive mistake if it doesn't feel comfortable either way.