Commencal TEMPO

PB Forum :: Commencal
Commencal TEMPO
Posted: Apr 26, 2024 at 3:53 Quote
MTBoiler wrote:
Nopantsdougie wrote:
MTBoiler wrote:

Sorry for my being superficial , I was only thinking about if it's compatible with 210x55 shocks, I don't understand what is the curve on the shock and what is the 2.425, I'm so into mountain bikes but I'm still a beginner
Technically yes a 210x55 shock will work, the leverage curve from suspension is not a straight number like.

the bike has 125mm of travel with a 50mm stroke
125/50=2.5 leverage average

bike has 125 only 12mm more it doesn't hit anything with a 55 it just doesn't make for an ideal leverage curve

https://www.pinkbike.com/news/review-2023-commencal-tempo-ltd.html

look at the picture of the second graph on here. see at the end how it the line turns around and start heading back. You dont really want more of that.

The bike is progressive most of the travel it starts at around 2.55 and goes down to about 2.35

The bike is not ment for a 55 shock because right near 120mm of travel the links start to flatten out and the linkage goes regressive. and you will go through that last 5mm of shock stoke pretty easily.

People have put 210x55 and say it works okay probably depends on how you ride.

210x50 is what it was made for and I suspect for a reason.

I googled those terms above and tried to understand what they mean, and now I think I am like understand 60% about them, at least I am sure I won't buy the 210x55 shock for it (as you said, the 137.1-120=17.1mm travel is probably not able to be used) I

I've benefited a lot from your explanation, I appreciate it

O+
Posted: Apr 29, 2024 at 5:10 Quote
photo
photo
photo

.....well it started out as the ohlins build in yellow lol, moving from 51 to 44 offset fork was a huge difference, much more direct steering.

Posted: Apr 29, 2024 at 11:54 Quote
plkjr wrote: