Powered by Outside

BMXer looking for tips on starting MTBing

PB Forum :: Freeride & Slopestyle
BMXer looking for tips on starting MTBing
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jul 26, 2023 at 16:04 Quote
I've been riding BMX for 35 years and (as you might imagine) there aren't many guys my age at the skatepark so I'm considering making the switch to MTB. I still want to jump (that's why I posted here), but I'm not sure how to get started.

I obviously need a bike, recommendations welcome. I'm a teacher, so I'm on a limited budget. Any bike companies I should avoid? Since I want to jump should I be looking at a hardtail or full suspension bike?

I know nothing about derailleurs or shocks or shifters or disc brakes. How much do I need to know to pick a decent bike?

Any equipment that I should definitely get? Any that's a waste of money? I've got pads and a helmet.

Any advice or tips would be helpful. Thanks!

FL
Posted: Jul 27, 2023 at 12:57 Quote
Check out this review https://m.pinkbike.com/news/review-2022-specialized-status-140-the-slope-duro-cross-weapon.html

Posted: Jul 27, 2023 at 14:14 Quote
ieatkarate wrote:
I've been riding BMX for 35 years and (as you might imagine) there aren't many guys my age at the skatepark so I'm considering making the switch to MTB. I still want to jump (that's why I posted here), but I'm not sure how to get started.

I obviously need a bike, recommendations welcome. I'm a teacher, so I'm on a limited budget. Any bike companies I should avoid? Since I want to jump should I be looking at a hardtail or full suspension bike?

I know nothing about derailleurs or shocks or shifters or disc brakes. How much do I need to know to pick a decent bike?

Any equipment that I should definitely get? Any that's a waste of money? I've got pads and a helmet.

Any advice or tips would be helpful. Thanks!

Jumping can be done on either style bike - you'll save way more $$ with a hardtail, but your body will thank you for the full suspension.