What are the benefits about the Marzocchi 888? Is it a good fork?

PB Forum :: Downhill
What are the benefits about the Marzocchi 888? Is it a good fork?
Posted: Nov 9, 2008 at 22:06 Quote
demonbiker48 wrote:
mostly true but the 888 are the smoothest most plush fork ive ridding so...
jackaljumps wrote:
i dident read the thread so i dont know if this has been said already. 888 are heavyier than say a boxxer or fox 40 because they are full of fluid, but that means they require less maintnence because they are well lubricated.

i personaly havent ridden any of the 888's so im a bit of a noob, what i just said came from what i have heard and read so correct me if im wrong

alright, cool. i just got a 40 so im gonna try out the "high maintnence fork and see how it works out)

Posted: Nov 9, 2008 at 22:11 Quote
the wight of the 888ata wc is between the boxxer wc and the fox40 i think 3050kg but without the stem is near the boxxer wc. but this pneumatic suspension from the ata is amazing..

Posted: Nov 9, 2008 at 22:21 Quote
i picked up an 09 888 ata wc and its great easy to adjust on the fly
photo

btw its 7lbs with the direct-mount stem and every thing
Edit: it was only $975 on ebay

Posted: Nov 9, 2008 at 22:22 Quote
I have a 09 Fox 40RC2. Its a little soft for me only because i do alot of FR on it. Thats why i am thinking about switching to a 888RC3 WC. I don't know of any other triple crown fork that is best for FRding.

Posted: Nov 9, 2008 at 22:42 Quote
Fox 40s are high maintenance, if you follow the Fox advised maintenance you will need to change the semi bath quite frequently, if you do a lot of resort riding you might even have to change it weekly... and the bushings basically have to be changed annually. The RC2 cartridge also may need occasional work on the main seal, but if you know how to do it it is easy. You need to keep your seals CLEAN to help maintain your bushings.