New Bike, need some opoinions

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
New Bike, need some opoinions
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
O+
Posted: Aug 31, 2008 at 17:28 Quote
Hey all, Ive been riding for a few years on a GT , avalanche, marzocchi bombers, LX throughout except XT rear DER. I love this bike, fast in the single track, Hardtail. Here is my dilemma, Its dated for sure but an amazing bike, since I bought it like 6 years ago, the avalanche franchise seemed to turn into the GT version of a Ford Tempo. I ride the short hills in The niagara region and venture up to Kelso near toronto once in awhile. Im not sure if any of you are familiar..good loops, varying degrees of difficulty.. The Squeezer Off road is done here.. I have been happy with the hardtail to this point and have never ridden my own FS. I have taken the odd ride on a few of my buddies rides..Not bad, I find you get what you paid for. I fear a loss of power in my climbs with the rear suspension. Also, Im willing to go into the 2,000-3,000 range for a solid All mountain. Is GT still worthwhile? Any help is appreciated from those that know..

Posted: Aug 31, 2008 at 17:33 Quote
id get my vp free for 3000 because u can look out the bottom out resistance and it climbs like none other i beat all my friends xc bikes and their in better shape then me and stuff and the floodgate on my totem jsut rules this is the bike for xc, dh, fr and am its amazing!!

Posted: Sep 1, 2008 at 10:02 Quote
Alot of the good XC rear suspension now hav lock outs for GOOD CLIMBING CAPABILITIES. You wouldn't want something too burly though, by the sounds of it 4-5 inches travel all around is enough. Check out the Norco Fluid series maybe, they've ridden well for me in similar style, XC with whatever looks like I can hit.

Posted: Sep 1, 2008 at 10:04 Quote
the rocky mountain slayer series or the element series are great too.

O+
Posted: Sep 1, 2008 at 14:35 Quote