Biggest mistake I have ever made

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Biggest mistake I have ever made
  • Previous Page
Posted: Sep 2, 2008 at 14:04 Quote
Hey guys,

I know it's dumb, I didn't measure twice and I cut my steerer tube too short. It's about 3/4" short. Is there anything that I can do? Will this be safe? Can I get a new steerer tube pressed in? Will a headlok work? This is a SID World Cup.... :*****(

Posted: Sep 2, 2008 at 14:07 Quote
as long as the bottom bolt on your stem is bellow the top edge of your steerer, then you will be fine to carry on using the fork with that steerer!

but make sure the sar nut is still tight!!!

Posted: Sep 2, 2008 at 14:15 Quote
thecorporatemachine wrote:
as long as the bottom bolt on your stem is bellow the top edge of your steerer, then you will be fine to carry on using the fork with that steerer!

but make sure the sar nut is still tight!!!

I know, this is so stupid. I've never done it before, and now I do it to my brand new SID!

My top cap bolt won't engage, the start nut is just out of reach. I could try to set it closer to the top.

The top of the steerer tube is JUST past the bottom bolt of the stem. Do they sell lower profile stems? I am using an Easton EA70.

Posted: Sep 2, 2008 at 14:19 Quote
i presume you mean the top of the steerer is bellow the bottom nut?

if so, unless you can get a smaller stem you need a new steerer!

for the star nut, take the stem off, put the nut in the hole a lil, then yank it up a good bit!!

just to check, you dnt have any spacers in do you?

Posted: Sep 2, 2008 at 14:26 Quote
If it really comes down to it, I would also look into a low profile headset... It wont make too much of a difference, but every inch counts Razz

Good Luck BTW.

Posted: Sep 2, 2008 at 14:28 Quote
The lowest profile stem I've seen is the SiC. It has saved a few forks from needing new CSU assemblies (might have your shop call up sram customer service and see what sort of a deal they can work out)