Downhill helmet = motocross helmet?

PB Forum :: Freeride & Slopestyle
Downhill helmet = motocross helmet?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Oct 20, 2008 at 22:21 Quote
It's obvious that there are some differences between the two, but I'm just getting into downhill mountain biking. I've got a ton of motocross gear that I use while riding my dirtbike (Honda CR250), but I was wondering if it would be a good idea to just use my motocross helmet while riding the mountain bike. It's only about a year old, and is relatively light for a motocross helmet. Whatcha think?

Posted: Oct 20, 2008 at 22:25 Quote
well I think even though its a light one its still gonna get quite heavy after awhile. I'm sure it would be alright for awhile. I was really happy when I got my full face pedal bike helmet.

Posted: Oct 20, 2008 at 22:28 Quote
Use it... you would not be the first to use a moto x helmet for Mtbing

Posted: Oct 20, 2008 at 22:32 Quote
My best friends all ride with moto helmets for DH. Its not an issue at all if you have a decent neck on your shoulders.

Posted: Oct 20, 2008 at 22:39 Quote
i ride with a moto helmet...a 661 flight and i havent ever had a problem with it...if you can deal with it on ur dirt bike ull be fine on a DH bike...i think the only diff is weight and i know i get hot pretty quick in mine...but nothing crazy...just something to get used to i suppose

Posted: Oct 20, 2008 at 22:40 Quote
no reason why you can't. The only major difference between the two is the weight. But thats minor. If you find it's to much weight...get the bike magazine of your choice, lay on your back, place the magazine on your belly button, lift up your head and read. Once you can't hold your head up anymore, lay on your stomach, magazine at arms legnth(ish) and read. taa-daa, problem sloved.

O+
Posted: Oct 20, 2008 at 23:01 Quote
if your used to wearing a motocross helmet on your dome then continue to wear one

Posted: Oct 20, 2008 at 23:05 Quote
get a cheap bell full face