single speed or multispeed

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
single speed or multispeed
  • Previous Page
Posted: Nov 1, 2007 at 21:38 Quote
i am just getting into mtb andi dont know if i shoud get a single speed or not... i currently ride a bmx bike with a 28-10 ratio....i will probably ride street and park and a little trails........btw i am currently looking at a canondale chase, giant stp, specialized p1, and some others any suggestions or input will be great
Smile

Posted: Nov 2, 2007 at 4:53 Quote
i personally say go for single speend. its less hastle. maybe be a bit tougher in the trails just make sure ur not doing alot of up hills

Posted: Nov 2, 2007 at 5:02 Quote
Go single speed
The amount of money i've spent replacing gears when i trash them, when i didnt really need them is mad.

Single speed is the way forward!

Posted: Nov 2, 2007 at 5:16 Quote
Single Speed Pros:

Cheaper
Lighter
Doesn't Fall Off
Derauiller Doesn't Break
Doesn't Skip

Single Speed Cons:

Can't Climp
Get Tired XC

I say SS. I switched from 28 Speed to 16 Speed to SS. SO much better, so little hassle.

Posted: Nov 2, 2007 at 5:18 Quote
oath. go single speed. have a look at the new scott voltage yz0 limited too. its pretty damn sexy

FL
Posted: Nov 2, 2007 at 10:48 Quote
Considering your back ground and the kind of riding you're looking forward to doing....go single speed.

It's less to brake and you really don't need the gears for riding street or park. Just increases the chances you skip a tooth, drop a chain or even worse get chain suck.

I'd get a good SS set up and some kind of bash guard/chain tensioner. Brain isn't quite functioning right now...sorry for the lack of terms. E13 is a good company to look over. Paul makes a killer SS set up.

Or if you go with something like the chase or STP you can order them that way.

I'm actually looking at replacing my DS bike with an SS STP.

Posted: Nov 2, 2007 at 14:44 Quote