How to get over your fear of hitting huge jumps?

PB Forum :: Tutorials
How to get over your fear of hitting huge jumps?
Posted: Oct 6, 2010 at 2:27 Quote
I only started riding DH a few months ago, (maybe 5 i guess), and i wanted to start racing, so going to the first race, seeing guys clearing the jumps in practice and i just figured if they can do it so can i. just go the same sort of speed, and just stay neutral. plus i thought to my self "if i want to compete and not just participate i have to clear the big ones"

Not a problem, since then i have just continued to try bigger stuff. had a few crashes, but thats why i wear a helmet!!

confidence is the most important, if your psyc'ed out before you try, you are not going to have a good time. positive thoughts, picture how smooth it will be when you are flying and rolling out!!!

Posted: Oct 14, 2010 at 15:42 Quote
Go for it... Win or Bin Wink

Posted: Oct 28, 2010 at 15:43 Quote
If it's your first time jumping and you have a "friend" with a camera, don't do it! He's only filming to get a crash video with you as the star! LOL.

Seriously, commitment is key and good attitude.

Posted: Nov 7, 2010 at 1:17 Quote
Not sure that is such a confidence builder but good plan.

Posted: Nov 7, 2010 at 11:19 Quote
"go big or go home" . simple as

Posted: Nov 21, 2010 at 20:02 Quote
Simple. Stop being a pussy and go for it!!! Dont second guess yourself or you're bound to slow up and bail....

Posted: Dec 1, 2010 at 12:26 Quote
close your eyes

Posted: Dec 1, 2010 at 13:41 Quote
ace1992 wrote:
close your eyes

just no Thumbs Down

Posted: Dec 1, 2010 at 14:01 Quote
couldnt help it after seeing this:

http://bmx.transworld.net/1000110029/videos/how-to-one-footed-x-up-with-tammy-mccarley/

Posted: Dec 1, 2010 at 14:06 Quote
ya let ur foot dangle like a testicle

funny vid

Posted: Dec 13, 2010 at 12:01 Quote
i always hype my self up like from the beginning of a ride to the end when i try the jump gap whateverJoker