First Time DH racer

PB Forum :: Downhill
First Time DH racer
  • Previous Page
Posted: Feb 2, 2010 at 17:31 Quote
Im new to DH racing this year, Going to enter the NWcup in Port Angeles.
I'd like to hear hints or tips for a first time racer.
photo
stuck using this for this race season. hopefully next year i can get a full blown DH race Bike.

Posted: Feb 2, 2010 at 17:42 Quote
Here is a mixture of both tips and hints. Get on your bike and ride as fast as you can. Eat good the day before and the morning of practice and racedays.

Posted: Feb 2, 2010 at 17:46 Quote
la115 wrote:
Here is a mixture of both tips and hints. Get on your bike and ride as fast as you can. Eat good the day before and the morning of practice and racedays.

haha i like going fast!

Posted: Feb 2, 2010 at 19:03 Quote
Try to get some good practice on the course before your race run, but don't wear yourself out. Watch the fast guys through the tricky sections and try to learn from them. Focus on riding to the best of your abilities and enjoying the whole thing. Oh, and try not to stack it up. Next week's race is always more important that this week's.

Posted: Feb 2, 2010 at 19:12 Quote
Buy a lower rise wider bar and drop your stem down the steerer tube a spacer or 2. This will help with cornering and overall feel and control of the bike. Have fun. If you go into a race too seriously you'll more than likely lose focus or stress to much about it. Try not to get frustrated when things come up i.e. blown tubes, snapped cables, and crashes. Oh and always bring extra parts and tools. Hope that helps.

Posted: Feb 2, 2010 at 19:19 Quote
gofaster1000 wrote: