Service my old fork or buy a new one?

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Service my old fork or buy a new one?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Sep 11, 2014 at 8:33 Quote
Hey guys, I have a 2002 Marzocchi Super T on my giant faith I bought in January. It's probably been well over a year since it was serviced, and I'm really nervous it's gonna crap out on me. I have been neglecting it to save for a used boxxer or 888 in the 350-400$ range, but other expenses are arising lately.

How much would it cost to service my Super T? What kind of things get replaced/ worked on when a fork is serviced?
How long will the fork survive after being serviced?
Should I just continue to beat on my fork until I can get something new?

Thanks for the help. I'm a noob when it comes to suspension technology.

Posted: Sep 11, 2014 at 11:21 Quote
You will probably notice that your fork will perform much worse if you skip service. It will probably not fall apart for you nor cause any bigger risks of injury.

How long it would last depends a lot of the mechanical condition of your forks, a service usually includes new oil, seals and a good cleaning of your fork. It will prolong the lifespan of the internals, but not the external parts, as the biggest wear and tear on those parts are beatings from rocks and other hard stuff on the trails.
A service is usually around 50-100$
A fork service is not that hard to do yourself, and the super t is quite simple to service. There are a lot of guides on the internet, some good and some less good. If it's not leaking it could just do a big difference in the feeling with new oil in it.

For around 350-400$ you can get a quite good used fork looking at 888, boxxer and even older fox 40's could be found in that price range. As long as the fork does not have to big damages to the stanchions, lowers and got fully functioning internals it should be a good alternative.