Powered by Outside

photo crit thread

PB Forum :: Biking Photos
photo crit thread
Posted: Feb 15, 2017 at 7:41 Quote
velociraptor-clintthrust wrote:
photo
photo

Bought my first DSLR one day, went to a race and got some snaps the next. Any tips?

The first thing that jumps out at me in these shots at least is the framing. I'd like to see the rider in the top half of the frame with a little bit more of the trail and terrain revealed below them.

O+
Posted: Feb 15, 2017 at 19:39 Quote
guancho-libre wrote:
But I feel like you have used the smoke as the center point and haven't bothered making an interesting shot outside of that.

Dude that's like %99.99 of all colored smoke shots

O+
Posted: Feb 21, 2017 at 4:10 Quote
Nice Pics J.P.! Dark forests are hard to shoot. Looks like you've done a pretty good job on those shots anyways. Just keep it up. You can always use a remote flash(s) on tripods. I'm by no means an expert on those. I picked one up used at the end of last year and have only tried it. A remote flash can do a good job controlling shadows, and bringing some life back to the colors. It's hard to setup and tweak just right though.

I hope to either take pics as well, or race at the Tuesday race series as I'm somewhat local now.

jpetznick wrote:
I've been into cameras since high school, but just started to shoot biking in the last couple years at the local Tuesday Night Race Series. My biggest struggle so far has been balancing shadows, highlights and colour correction in my post processing. Any tips would be appreciated!

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

Posted: Feb 21, 2017 at 14:46 Quote
jpetznick wrote:
I've been into cameras since high school, but just started to shoot biking in the last couple years at the local Tuesday Night Race Series. My biggest struggle so far has been balancing shadows, highlights and colour correction in my post processing. Any tips would be appreciated!