Powered by Outside

2010 jamis bam

PB Forum :: Downhill
2010 jamis bam
Posted: Aug 14, 2010 at 15:15 Quote
Question for you guys that have experienced broken frames: How much time on the bike before you started seeing signs of cracks? ..and are we talking normal DH race course use or massive drops and huge jumps to cause the breakage documented here? I ask because my Son is racing a 2010 BAM2 at Snowshoe this season and I am concerned for his safety.

Posted: Aug 14, 2010 at 21:17 Quote
morpheous wrote:
Question for you guys that have experienced broken frames: How much time on the bike before you started seeing signs of cracks? ..and are we talking normal DH race course use or massive drops and huge jumps to cause the breakage documented here? I ask because my Son is racing a 2010 BAM2 at Snowshoe this season and I am concerned for his safety.
OK. I am no expert on the matter of the bam per say but I have seen too many broken jamis' come through the door of the shop i work at to think that anyone riding one is in for a "safe" experience. I broke a friend's jamis 29er off of a 2ft drop....I wouldn't race dh on one.
he should sell the frame on here and get any other brand dh bike frame (keep the parts because the part spec on the bam is pretty mint). personally i think the most bang for your buck (and bomb proof) for a used frame would be an older glory frame but anything will be safer than the jamis.
As for the diablo thing; I have heard that the reason they rent them is because Jamis gives them all of the rental bikes FOR FREE. They would be stupid to not take a deal like that so that is why they are the official bike of diablo; not because they are good.

Posted: Aug 15, 2010 at 7:43 Quote
morpheous wrote: