Kona Hater?

PB Forum :: Kona
Kona Hater?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: May 14, 2012 at 13:47 Quote
Just curious... Why are there so many of them out there? I happen to love the Kona brand. Been riding them since 2001. And now that I have an Operator, I'm loving them even more. I'm an absolute rookie to the freeride/downhill scene and this bike just pops!

FL
Posted: May 14, 2012 at 14:06 Quote
vi5a wrote:
Just curious... Why are there so many of them out there? I happen to love the Kona brand. Been riding them since 2001. And now that I have an Operator, I'm loving them even more. I'm an absolute rookie to the freeride/downhill scene and this bike just pops!

Who knows man? I just got a 2011 Operator to replace a bike that was stolen. Im on a teachers' salary budget, so that helped me make the decision on the Operator. I have made a few upgrades and changes and am pretty happy with it so far. My saddle time is pretty limited. Definitely one of the longer wheelbase bikes I have ever ridden, but the cockpit is about the same length as my trailbike. I feel very centered on the Operator. I rode a Stab way back in the day as a loaner before I got my first "big" bike, and have spent some time aboard the Cadabra with the magic link. I've never had any issues or problems with Kona. It's hard to say why there are so many haters.

Posted: May 14, 2012 at 19:29 Quote
I think people remember the era of the Stinky...a big burly drop anything bike that handled like...a big burly drop anything bike.

I do think Kona shot themselves in the foot with the DOPE system, hell..their website still touts its merits even tho the Operator's moved beyond it. The marketing behind that was silly.

I think people remember those two things and have a negative association with the name. I also think people would be pleasently surprised to try out an Operator and see that it's not their big brother's Stinky.

Kona needs to buy a Sam Hill and your concerns would be alleviated Smile