Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]
Posted: Oct 14, 2019 at 14:37 Quote
Noeserd wrote:
Hi i'm a newbie
Started enduro 3 months ago and i dont have any clue about what tire pressures i need
So İm 102kg with kit ,30mm internal rim and 170mm travel
What pressure should i use for base line?
Start with a low psi like 25 let's say go find a corner and rail or does your rear tire fold? If no then your good if yes then add more air

Posted: Oct 14, 2019 at 14:51 Quote
İm using tubeless and cushcore is a pretty expensive for me. 28 front 32 rear seems great i think maybe 34

Posted: Oct 14, 2019 at 14:58 Quote
Noeserd wrote:
İm using tubeless and cushcore is a pretty expensive for me. 28 front 32 rear seems great i think maybe 34

That sounds high. Depends on the tire construction (ex. light, DH double-ply, etc.), tire width, and your terrain. Approximately 15 - 30% higher for the rear is typical.

Posted: Oct 14, 2019 at 15:06 Quote
R-M-R wrote:
Noeserd wrote:

That sounds high. Depends on the tire construction (ex. light, DH double-ply, etc.), tire width, and your terrain. Approximately 15 - 30% higher for the rear is typical.
For 100kg its not that high i think?
İ dented many rims on hardtail
Rear tire is 2.35 mm gravity casing
Front is 2.6 apex mm
Terrain is quite rocky and rooty

Posted: Oct 14, 2019 at 15:29 Quote
Noeserd wrote:
R-M-R wrote:
Noeserd wrote:

For 100kg its not that high i think?
İ dented many rims on hardtail
Rear tire is 2.35 mm gravity casing
Front is 2.6 apex mm
Terrain is quite rocky and rooty

It is kinda high considering in 330 lbs and I run my rear tire at 36 psi with maxxis 2.5 exo casing tires and my front is 32

Posted: Oct 14, 2019 at 15:53 Quote
Everyone has a different preferred pressure. Keep experimenting until you find what's best for you. I feel you could go lower than 28 - 34 psi, but maybe not.

Posted: Oct 14, 2019 at 16:11 Quote