Powered by Outside

Shimano Rear Derailleur LOSS OF REVERSE SPRING TENSION

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Shimano Rear Derailleur LOSS OF REVERSE SPRING TENSION
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Mar 8, 2014 at 7:04 Quote
I have a Shimano XT 9spd long cage Rear Derailleur that seems to have lost almost all rearward or reverse tension.
Every time the bike hits a bump, small or large, the rear derailleur slaps the bottom of the chain stay.
I am a novice mechanic, have built 20+ bikes, and used many XT derailleurs & chain guides but never come across this.
I am running 1x9 with an MRP Micro chain guide up front and yes, the chain is the correct length.
Can the internal spring tension inside the derailleur body be adjusted?
Is this even the problem or do I have something else wrong?
Is the derailleur simply "worn out"???

Any help greatly appreciated!

Posted: Mar 8, 2014 at 7:47 Quote
Check out your R der. model here
http://si.shimano.com/#seriesList/3

Look for the EV exploded View versions.

Anyways I cant say I have done it on that specific Derailleur but I have on 6700 ultegras in the past.
Usually there is a bolt on the P-knuckle that you can remove, clean everything up re grease and the tricky part is getting the spring back into the right notch for tension, but it is do able

Posted: Mar 8, 2014 at 9:09 Quote
bigairbryan wrote:
Check out your R der. model here
http://si.shimano.com/#seriesList/3

Look for the EV exploded View versions.

Anyways I cant say I have done it on that specific Derailleur but I have on 6700 ultegras in the past.
Usually there is a bolt on the P-knuckle that you can remove, clean everything up re grease and the tricky part is getting the spring back into the right notch for tension, but it is do able

Thanks for the tip. I found an exploded view that may help.