Official Vernon Riders Thread

PB Forum :: Canada - West
Official Vernon Riders Thread
Posted: Nov 25, 2019 at 21:35 Quote
Sounds like you two need to go ride a few stiff poles...

Posted: Nov 25, 2019 at 22:30 Quote
NachoManRandySalad wrote:

Ohhhhh yeahhhhh! I've been in the danger zone.

Posted: Nov 26, 2019 at 10:41 Quote

No thanks, not into my bike breaking on a 2' drop.

Let's hear some others chime in... Does anyone else really care about a few pounds on a DH specific bike? (Buick)

O+
Posted: Nov 26, 2019 at 12:13 Quote
ridayobike wrote:

No thanks, not into my bike breaking on a 2' drop.

Let's hear some others chime in... Does anyone else really care about a few pounds on a DH specific bike? (Buick)

I’m not an expert but I did just watch a review by the loam ranger of the commencal ebike and they were surprised to find the weight to be not that detrimental, and in some cases a benefit to riding. In fact they suggested it was going to change the way they look at weight on their regular bikes. The placement of the weight is important and, on an e bike, the extra weight is low and centred so it will make far less difference to aerial maneuverability and flickability than if the extra weight were distributed more evenly across the bike the way it would be in a burly Dh bike or a dirt bike. Finally, as Xb suggested, if skinny dudes are throwing whips and off axis spins on dirt bikes, I don’t know how much the extra weight of an ebike will hinder the straight airs us overweight middle aged dudes are capable of. Personally, I figure my riding would benefit more if I dropped the pounds off my ass than off my bike.

Posted: Nov 26, 2019 at 16:31 Quote
Don’t settle for what the man is offering. Make them build it lighter and better. That and opinions of pros who’s lively hood is reliant on bikes being sold will say anything to keep the bikes moving. Don’t follow, lead.

Posted: Nov 26, 2019 at 18:13 Quote