Need help choosing semi downhill mountain bike

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Need help choosing semi downhill mountain bike
  • Previous Page
Posted: Jul 13, 2015 at 20:50 Quote
I'm looking into purchasing a bike that I can ride in downhill mtb parks about 4-5 times a year. I am a beginner i ride a 2014 specialized rockhopper around my local trails and recently went to whistler and loved it, but for my area a full on downhill bike is to much. Any recommendations helpful.

O+
Posted: Jul 14, 2015 at 9:06 Quote
Devinci Spartan Enduro/mini downhill bike that you can ride to the top.

Posted: Jul 14, 2015 at 13:54 Quote
definitely will check those out thanks Big Grin

Posted: Jul 14, 2015 at 15:21 Quote
Xprezo AdHoc. It rips and climbs too! '

Posted: Jul 14, 2015 at 16:04 Quote
I think that an enduro bike was made for you! there are thousand of model available. I have a ghos cagua 6540 with 160 mm travel. I usually use it on trails, but two times I went in a bike park, and the feeling with the track was good.
I don't know how whistler park is , but the type of track could be vary different for different bike park. In my case i rode a "easy" bike park, but in the Alps there are bike park where I won't go, for my( and bike ) safe.

O+
Posted: Jul 15, 2015 at 7:43 Quote
Most enduro bikes can handle most bike parks, now it might be easier on some trails with a downhill bike, but I have yet to find a bike park where my Devinci Spartan cannot handle ( I live in Denver CO and there are 3 big mountain bike parks, Ketstone, Trestle, Solvista within 1.5 hours and over 5 within 5 hour drive)

Posted: Jul 15, 2015 at 11:58 Quote
Yeah, go to your LBS and look at their Enduro bikes, buy the best spec you can afford so it's not too heavy.
In Canada, the Giant Reign 2 is pretty much the best bang for the buck at $2850 with Pike fork and Monarch+ shock, but is ~32lbs, which isn't ideal for XC riding.

Posted: Jul 15, 2015 at 21:41 Quote