Tall and Heavy(somewhat) Riders

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Tall and Heavy(somewhat) Riders
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: May 25, 2016 at 12:50 Quote
Hello everyone, I've been riding serious(well, sort of....) mountain biking since 2004 and I think it's time I share some of the information I could gather as a giant rider. I'm 6"9 (2M05) with shoes and (depending on the era) 230-270 pounds (not in gear). Since I started riding, I could not find much information about us poor sub species of giant/heavy riders and that made me sad.

If you fit in this category, please feel free to pitch in and share your tricks/rides/gear/whatever that could help other giant/heavy rider to join ze forest. I know there are a lot of these people afraid of starting mountain biking because they don't want to break (or break themselves) the bikes/wheels or think they can't possibility fit on a bike. We must let them know that basketball is not the only sport we can excel at!!! They need testimonies and be reassured that Mountain Biking is a fit for everyone regardless of size/weight =D.

My experience extends from DH to XC so I can speak a little bit of what I've used and what worked/did not work for me in these disciplines. I am not the most gentle rider and of course, I'm not the most nimble on a bike. So the parts that have survived me without any incident, well, they should survive for you too.

1 ) You will never be XC and/or DH champ. Our center of gravity and weight plays against us in both category most of the time. So you don't have to try it but you can still enjoy both of them Smile .