beginner needs advice

• Previous Page
  • Next Page
O+
Posted: Jan 3, 2017 at 14:04 Quote
Hey guys

I'm new in All Mountain biking and i need advice on pedals...

1st flat pedals cheap,efficient with a ton of grip. what would you suggest?

2nd clip pedals what should be the greatest advantage to own them?
And is it a must? (by the way i'm not looking to start a war here)

thx

Posted: Jan 3, 2017 at 15:03 Quote
It depends what kind of riding your doing if its just casual around town on the trails. Then there are definitely benefits to learning and riding on flats skill wise. I run clipless on my xc bike just for the marginal efficiency but on my am bike i run flats, flats can be more fun, easier and less scary if you are a beginner.

Posted: Jan 3, 2017 at 18:14 Quote
Flat pedals are great for learning skills on and many riders choose to stay on them for comfort and feel. Clipless pedals are used for a perceived efficiency increase and being directly connected to your bike.
They both offer different types of mobility: flats allow greater motion of your feet about pedals which translates into more rotation of the body and overall movement, clips attach the bike directly to the rider's feet which allows greater control over rough and technical terrain. Most professional riders choose clips for increased control, but there are still plenty of ridiculously fast riders on flats (Sam Hill Drool )
I would really reccomend picking up a pair of flats so that you learn skills well and then transfer to clips if you'd like. Get used to riding your bike first and then watch as many skills videos as you can so you learn to ride right early on. Buy a pair of DMR Vaults (don't even bother with anything else, they are the best and worth it) and Five Ten flat pedal specific shoes. Read reviews on the shoes to make sure you don't get any unreliable pairs.
Best of luck and have fun!

Posted: Jan 3, 2017 at 23:54 Quote