Thinking of going clipless

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Thinking of going clipless
  • Previous Page
O+
Posted: Mar 29, 2020 at 17:53 Quote
Ok so im pondering the idea of going clipless for my trail bike (DH bike is definitely staying platform haha). I was hoping to get some input on the different mechanisms and their pro's and cons (don't know much about clipless). As someone thats been on platforms my whole life, i just don't much about clipless mechanisms.

I'm pretty sure i want a clipless platform style and pull most of the pegs out that way there is no resistance on exiting and on crazy trails i still have a platform to land on if i can't get clipped back in quickly while I'm still learning and getting the muscle memory going.

A little background. between ages 16-21 i rode all-mountain freeride, park, and city free ride almost everyday, so even with my 9 year hiatus from the sport, i can still handle a bike fairly well and the fundamentals are still ingrained in me. i only add this info because I've read that some people feel clipless can create bad habits. Currently i have a Trance and ride single tracks that focus more on the aggressive side.

Current pedal I'm looking at are (but not limited to, if anyone has other suggestions) Time Special 8, CB Mallet, SHIMANO XT PD-M8120, LOOK X-TRACK RAGE+

thanks for any input!

O+
Posted: Mar 29, 2020 at 22:45 Quote
Cheap ones.. And cheap shoes so its ok when you hate them...

O+
Posted: Mar 29, 2020 at 23:50 Quote
englertracing wrote:
Cheap ones.. And cheap shoes so its ok when you hate them...

haha i did think about that...figured if i didn't like them than id just sell for cheap on the classifieds

Posted: Mar 30, 2020 at 0:59 Quote
Shimano pedals at the budget of you choosing.
Specialized shoes at the budget of your choosing.

Posted: Mar 30, 2020 at 1:09 Quote