Is this the right expensive used bike for me?

PB Forum :: Beginners
Is this the right expensive used bike for me?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jun 5, 2020 at 7:03 Quote
I am looking for a MTB, my budget was lower ($1,000?) but this looks like a good deal and I was wondering what you all think?

https://miami.craigslist.org/pbc/bik/d/boca-raton-cannondale-carbon-habit-2/7135117267.html

I am a beginner, I will be using this on anything available down here in South Florida. So far it's been intermediate trails, mostly flat, some technical roots etc. I did bust my ass on a big rock the other day. Maybe the rear shock is unnecessary? Maybe I shouldn't start with Carbon Fiber and maybe I should have a lower budget?

Currently I have a Scott Hybrid, $500 bike several years old - but it isn't too horrible. I put the largest tires I could fit on it but it has no suspension.

I bought my girlfriend a Marlin 4 that she is pretty happy with and I can tell it's a bit easier to ride than mine on the trail.

Thanks!

Posted: Jun 6, 2020 at 7:26 Quote
I can't see the second hand bike deal link but not relevant to my general suggestion anyway.

In your position as new to mountain biking and where you want to ride you should try and use a $1000 budget on a new alloy hardtail. Check online for bike test/reviews or top 10 bikes for $1000 to begin with. Do some research on the ones you like.

You will get a good bike with good new trends in spec and geometry compared to an entry level, cheap, full suspension bike.

Trek, Vitus, Nukeproof are some good brands that would give you best value for your money.

Having a hybrid bike doesn't compare with any mountain bike which is why your girlfriends Marlin is easier to ride on trails. Take your time, do some research and enjoy the fun of looking around before you buy.

Only my opinion on a way to proceed and the way I did it when I started out on my journey into mountain biking which worked for me. Happy riding! Smile