Juicy 5 Problems

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Juicy 5 Problems
  • Previous Page
Posted: Jun 23, 2009 at 0:27 Quote
Hey
I hope that someone can help me or give me advice with my juicy 5 brakes. I bought them off eBay a while back.

I have been using them for about 3 months now and I've notice a lack of power. I bought the bleed kit off pricepoint and bleed them myself almost 7 times now, but nothing has worked. There aren't any leaks in the hose.

I have also been to my lbs and tested some similar brakes on new bikes and there is a great deal more power.

What is wrong with my brakes? I don't really want to spend money so maybe some advice would be great.

Posted: Jun 23, 2009 at 0:36 Quote
Try cleaning your rotor and changing your pads

Posted: Jun 23, 2009 at 0:39 Quote
I dunno if the 5's have them but try pad contact.

and I would put money on the fact that you just have glazed over pads. try getting the semi metallic pads this time. I highly recommend Kool Stops.

rubber side down.

Posted: Jun 23, 2009 at 9:50 Quote
Well I guess I forgot to say that I had cleaned both the rotor and the pads with the alcohol.

I guess my next option would be new brakes pads, or did i just do a terrible job at bleeding?

Posted: Jun 23, 2009 at 9:52 Quote
bring them in to the bike shop. have them give them a run through. change pads, and you could also try to extend the lever out a bit. they should grab sooner, and hopefully it will give you some extra power.

Posted: Jun 23, 2009 at 10:03 Quote
You probably have an air bubble in your caliper. This happens to most Juicy brakes especially in the Juicy 7's. Take them to a shop and tell them that you think you might have an air bubble in there somewhere cuz thats probably what it is...

Posted: Jun 23, 2009 at 10:19 Quote
maxwagner wrote:
Hey
I hope that someone can help me or give me advice with my juicy 5 brakes. I bought them off eBay a while back.