Just started dirt jumping, tips anyone?

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
Just started dirt jumping, tips anyone?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Mar 26, 2010 at 7:21 Quote
I have just started dirt jumping so I'm a complete noob! Any advice to get me going?

Posted: Mar 27, 2010 at 9:59 Quote
hey! what's up, i'm new too =]
someone on here told me not to worry if you don't have balls when you first start out, they come with practice and experience,
so no worries if something kinda trips you out the first time, there's nothin wrong with starting small
put it this way, imagine you're a seven year old standing 4"3, you don't really want to start riding a bike that's twice your height
do you know what i mean?
anyway, it totally made sense when he told me that so i figured i'd share =]
happy riding =]

Posted: Mar 27, 2010 at 10:15 Quote
wear a helmet and protective gear, makes it a bit safer, practice and practice maybe even build your own track that way you can start small and add to them making them bigger and bigger, try to find frieds who are into jumping as well makes it more fun

FL
Posted: Mar 27, 2010 at 10:36 Quote
Always try and ride with someone better than you, you learn from watching them and learn which line to ride ect. and at the end of the day its more fun to ride with buddies than on your own.

FL
Posted: Mar 27, 2010 at 10:56 Quote
tom666 wrote:
Always try and ride with someone better than you, you learn from watching them and learn which line to ride ect. and at the end of the day its more fun to ride with buddies than on your own.
that can be pretty hard to do sometimes, unless you are taking up the sport becasue you have mates who already do it.
BMX tracks are good place to start as all of the jumps are rollable and you will be able to get a feel for how your bike handles in the air. it also helps that they are usually full of pretty decent riders (BMX and MTB) who you cna watch and ask for tips from most will be happy enough to help.