Powered by Outside

working at a bike shop tips??

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
working at a bike shop tips??
  • Previous Page
Posted: Feb 6, 2008 at 14:00 Quote
Im gonna try and work at my lbs for my 2 week work placement/experience the 2 weeks before summer. its at a good local shop for 2 weeks getting wednesdays off ans working saturdays and the description is of the work is:

'Duties include observing & assisting in workshop, assembling bicycles, mending punctures, observing customer service and tidying up.'

Ive been riding frequent for about 6 months now and know a bit about bikes and biking. has anyone got any tips about stuff i should know and things i should do/not do?

any info helpfull
thanks

Posted: Feb 6, 2008 at 16:37 Quote
DO NOT ACT LIKE YOU KNOW EVERYTHING. There will be people who walk into the shop that know more than you. I think that is about the most anoying thing when some punk thinks they know it all because they work in a shop.

Posted: Feb 6, 2008 at 16:39 Quote
ricar wrote:
DO NOT ACT LIKE YOU KNOW EVERYTHING. There will be people who walk into the shop that know more than you. I think that is about the most anoying thing when some punk thinks they know it all because they work in a shop.

very well put, and if you have any questions ASK dont be affraid to ask

Posted: Feb 6, 2008 at 16:39 Quote
ricar wrote:

True, but what's even worse is when you work in a shop and some jackass who doesn't know shit tries to act like he knows more then you! As for what to do when you're working. Have a good attitude. Listen, and ask lots of questions. You'll love it I promise.

Posted: Feb 6, 2008 at 16:43 Quote
willbikeforbeer wrote:
ricar wrote:

True, but what's even worse is when you work in a shop and some jackass who doesn't know shit tries to act like he knows more then you! As for what to do when you're working. Have a good attitude. Listen, and ask lots of questions. You'll love it I promise.