Am I making a mistake buying a 26” DH?

PB Forum :: Downhill
Am I making a mistake buying a 26” DH?
  • Previous Page
O+
Posted: Dec 17, 2020 at 10:36 Quote
I have been riding DH for around 2 years now. My first bike was a 2018 scott gambler 730 with 27.5”. It was a fun bike that handled technical trails well but wasn’t as agile as I would have liked. Long story short I had sold it when I made my recent move to Colorado (had to sell it due to lack of room and pay for travels between jobs).

I have been shopping around when I ran across a 2014 Specialized Demo 8 w/ carbon frame for $1k. The downside is that it’s a 26er.

I’ve read all the lengthy debates on whether to run 26/27.5/29, and still cannot determine if I will regret the smaller wheels.

It’s well under bicycle blue book. Long story short, did I find a solid deal or should I suck it up and fork out more cash for a 27.5?

Thank you for the help! Still new and learning about DH so any help is very much appreciated.

Posted: Dec 17, 2020 at 10:52 Quote
Carbon for under 1k? Go for it if it's in good condition, but I did hear something about cracks with the earlier carbon demos. Look it up I guess. As for wheel size, plenty of people (me included) still run 26. Still fun! I'd rather have a nice cheap DH with 26 rather than 10 grand on a new 29.

O+
Posted: Dec 17, 2020 at 11:22 Quote
How often do you ride? I bought a 26" dh bike a couple of years ago that I ride +/- 12 times per year. I have debated upgrading but I can still find parts and just can't justify the cost of a newer bike.

O+
Posted: Dec 17, 2020 at 11:29 Quote