Powered by Outside

As a bicycle mechanic list your common and worst injuries on the job

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
As a bicycle mechanic list your common and worst injuries on the job
Posted: Jan 26, 2009 at 11:19 Quote
What about banging in a star nut into forks? Anyone ever caught their skin under the star nut as it enters the fork. YOUCH! lol. U only do it once lol. I see now the new tools for this have a gaurd to prevent this.

Posted: Jan 26, 2009 at 11:30 Quote
opening up bike boxes with the big staple things and slicing finger open ( and yes i am aware the boxes come with warnings now)
Most common: test riding customers bike that has warn cassette/chainrings that slip, then falling straight onto the stem! ouch.

Posted: Jan 26, 2009 at 11:32 Quote
im not a mechanic, but i do all my repairs in my room. and all the little bits of cable get stuck in the carpet and then they stick in my foot as i step on them.

one time i woke up with a rotor bolt stuck in my side. id slept on it and somehow it had got stuck and it really hurt.

Posted: Jan 26, 2009 at 11:34 Quote
cliffred wrote:
opening up bike boxes with the big staple things and slicing finger open ( and yes i am aware the boxes come with warnings now)
Most common: test riding customers bike that has warn cassette/chainrings that slip, then falling straight onto the stem! ouch.

Ever test rode a customers bike and forgot that they have they brakes round the other way? lol. Whoops.

Posted: Jan 26, 2009 at 11:37 Quote
typecaRl wrote:
cliffred wrote:

Ever test rode a customers bike and forgot that they have they brakes round the other way? lol. Whoops.

hahaha yes! or the ones that dont think to tell you there stem pinch bolts arent done up particulaly tight...

Posted: Jan 26, 2009 at 11:53 Quote
Checking a Hayes rotor was true and catching my finger in as it was spinning around - how I still have the end of that finger I don't know, but I won't be making that mistake again!