Got Any DH Questions? Ask Them Here

PB Forum :: Downhill
Got Any DH Questions? Ask Them Here
Posted: Mar 31, 2023 at 17:11 Quote
Not really my thing....(bc I'm not good at it) Cry

O+
Posted: Apr 1, 2023 at 9:54 Quote
BeaverCreaker wrote:
I used to love 26” wheels and hate 29ers, simply for maneuverability. I haven’t tried a 29er DH bike yet, but all the 2020 and newer trail/enduro 29ers I’ve tried have been much more maneuverable than any big wheel bike I tried prior.

Something in modern geometry has practically solved the maneuverability problem with big wheels. For me anyways, I’m a larger dude. Idk if all this has translated to 29er dh bikes though.

Some of the geo changes companies made to the trail and enduro bikes, like steeper seat tube angles and ridiculously long reaches, do not translate as well to dh bikes. Some better than others obviously.

Maybe I should try a 29er bike this summer before I go whole hog. Or go mullet like the TR11, just to be safer and still benefit 50% from big wheels.

TR11 just moved up a notch over the Jedi.

I was always 26 forever. Then all my friends were passing me on bigger wheels so I got a 275 DH bike. Not as flickable as a 26 but you carry speed better so you're working less for the jumps. I ran my last DH bike mullet and it is game changer compared to my 275 trail bike. The front just doesn't get caught in holes so your momentum keeps going forward. Definitely another plus for the TR11. I'm building up the wheels with double butted spokes also in hopes the lesser rotational weight will help make the rear wheel more flickable.

Not sure if you've looked but I saw someone set up a Canfield One.2 mullet and they liked it. I've not ridden either so I can't speak to it.

Posted: Apr 5, 2023 at 10:56 Quote