Bird Aeris owners thread

Posted: Aug 6, 2018 at 12:25 Quote
[Quote="theglenn"]There was some chat earlier in the thread on fork offset, now I have an AM9 with a pike on it with a 42mm offset. Bike I demo's had a lyrik with a 51mm offset (lyrik was not available when I ordered) I have ridden the bike only once so far but noticed it felt quite different to the demo bike. By different I mean it likes to wander a fair bit. Now I realise I need time to adjust to the bike especially with wider bars, but I just want to know what other people's experiences were. 29inch fork with 42 Vs 51mm offset.

Cheers[/Quote

I went for the MRP Ribbon fork, which has 46mm offset and I’m loving it. The AM9 is fastest cornering bike I’ve ever ridden. I have been riding 800mm plus bars for many years, so was already used to that. I’m a fan of the reduced offest.

O+
Posted: Aug 6, 2018 at 13:05 Quote
Joemmo wrote:
What's the solution? Do you have to remove the lowers and refit the piston to equalise the pressure?

I pulled the lowers and removed the piston. Cleaned it up and gave it new grease. Put the whole thing back together in with new Fox Gold oil and NO compression of the fork. Works like a charm now and hit 25% with 120psi. I got two tokens in it now put I think I need to reduce it to one just by testing it on the street. Got mabey 35mm left of travel.

Posted: Aug 7, 2018 at 5:04 Quote
Two raw AM9's together Cool It's also a large (my mate is bang on 6ft) with RC2 Lyriks, Hope Enduro wheels, XT Drivetrain and some red ano Hope bling.

photo

O+
Posted: Aug 7, 2018 at 6:07 Quote
theglenn wrote: