When you grow up, what do you want to be!!!

PB Forum :: Off-Topic
When you grow up, what do you want to be!!!
Posted: Apr 4, 2008 at 8:10 Quote
I'm all grown up now and I'm a welder. Its not that bad of a job but its also something that most people don't want to be doing when they're in their late 30s because it beats the hell out of the body. For anyone interested in what it feels like to be a welder, put 1.5lbs on your head and move your head up and down for a couple hours a day. It doesn't sound like much but after a couple years, it takes its toll. On top of that you're usually to hot or too cold.

I love what I do but it definitely is not for everyone, especially people that have their feelings hurt easily.

O+ FL
Posted: Apr 4, 2008 at 10:29 Quote
ezekiel82 wrote:
I'm all grown up now and I'm a welder. Its not that bad of a job but its also something that most people don't want to be doing when they're in their late 30s because it beats the hell out of the body. For anyone interested in what it feels like to be a welder, put 1.5lbs on your head and move your head up and down for a couple hours a day. It doesn't sound like much but after a couple years, it takes its toll. On top of that you're usually to hot or too cold.

I love what I do but it definitely is not for everyone, especially people that have their feelings hurt easily.

When I was welding over the winter the temperature ALWAYS sucked my steel toed boots got cold making my toes cold but my hands and face were hot.

Posted: Apr 4, 2008 at 10:55 Quote
Who says you have to grow up? I don't intend to get sucked into the 9-5 career that all my formal education has driven me towards. Yeah I understand that you need money to live, but I intend to work to live and not live to work. The amount of people I know who think they're the shit because they have amazing well paid jobs where they work every hour under the sun, yet they never get any chance to enjoy or spend all this money they're making.