Powered by Outside

Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Mechanics Quick Question Thread [Ask Questions Here]
Posted: Apr 4, 2024 at 7:57 Quote
Dief74 wrote:
Hi everyone,

I just cleaned and greased my headset on a 2016 Norco Range Carbon C.3 trying to address a creaking noise.

I was surprised that there was not a lower 'bearing' in place, at least a bearing in the sense of a sealed unit where two concentric parts move against each other with ball bearings (or cartridge, or needle etc.) inside. There was such a bearing at the top, at the bottom there is just a conical metal piece that seems to slide directly on the crown race of the fork.

Perhaps this works as a bushing or some other sort of bearing (I'm not an engineer obviously...), but I would have expected a lower sealed unit like there was at the top, again containing ball bearings or something similar.

Just want to make sure I'm not missing an essential part of the headset, if so it's been missing for a long time. Looking at online pictures of headsets they seem to generally contain both upper and lower bearings of the sort I expected.

The headset type from Norco's spec sheet is S.H.I.S. IS42/28.6 | IS52/40, any wisdom would be appreciated!

Check the link https://canecreek.com/how-to-install-an-integrated-is-headset/

The frame uses integrated headset so the lower bearing just rest against the inside of the headtube.

Posted: Apr 4, 2024 at 10:18 Quote
pyromaniac wrote:
gabriel-mission9 wrote:
riish wrote:
Something I just realised about my Lyrik - I’ve always thought it felt pretty sticky when servicing it, so this time around I checked the fit of each stanchion in the bushings separately. They glide without a problem, so I checked the hub spacing. The gap between the lower legs is 108mm.