Powered by Outside

Homemade Parts!

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Homemade Parts!
Posted: Apr 17, 2021 at 0:33 Quote
IP is a subtle thing; it's amazing how nuanced it can be. My thoughts are not that bikeracer28 will be sued, but that there's a slim chance he's created something novel.

Posted: Apr 18, 2021 at 15:07 Quote
Can anyone suggest a good supplier for CFRP tubing in USA?

Rockwest seems to be a well known name, but I'm sure there are lots of others I should be considering and might give more options.

I have a few projects cooking that will require some CFRP tubing, but the next one up will be a handlebar made by bonding some tubes to a 3D printed 'lug'. I've already done this once before. Last time around I cut the tubes out of a narrow bar I had.... Here's a photo for reference. I've been riding this bar for a year or so.

Essentially I'm looking for 22.2mm / 7/8"" OD tubing of 12" length or greater. Layup/mfg method is TBD. I am an expert in metal 3d printing, I am NOT an expert in composites...

photo

Edit: corrected bar diameter. I forgot.

Posted: Apr 18, 2021 at 15:11 Quote
I'm sure you know this but just to check - you're aware bars have an OD of 7/8"?

Posted: Apr 18, 2021 at 15:12 Quote
Get in touch with Drew Diller.
He's about as good at custom composites as they get.

Posted: Apr 18, 2021 at 15:35 Quote
Arnoodles wrote:
I'm sure you know this but just to check - you're aware bars have an OD of 7/8"?

Thanks man. Corrected.

Posted: Apr 18, 2021 at 16:55 Quote
Fabris wrote:
Arnoodles wrote:

Thanks man. Corrected.

What’s your objective , just go for some roll wrapped tube , general rule 1.5 wall will do , I’m not going to get into discussions as to why or what or anything else , just tell you what will work

O+
Posted: Apr 18, 2021 at 18:29 Quote
Fabris wrote:
Can anyone suggest a good supplier for CFRP tubing in USA?