DJ Noob... Need Help?

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
DJ Noob... Need Help?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Dec 18, 2011 at 1:54 Quote
Hi guys,

As the title says I'm a totally DJ noob, I no absolutely nothing about them :/ however I do ride XC a lot and some one told me to check out Chicksands? Now me and my mate had no idea what it was other than a bike park, and all we had was a postcode and an afternoon, so we loaded up the bikes and headed of to find out it was more about the DJ's DH's, BMX's etc so our XC bikes were not as well suited to the faster descents and bigger hits but none the less it was fantastic... So what am I blabbering on about and waisting your time for? Well whilst we were there I got talking to a lad who kindly let me take his DJ bike that he built his self down the 4X and it was fantastic! You could get loads of hight and better control thanks to its geometry.... So after all that my question is this what am I looking for to start getting into DJ riding? I have ridden BMX's from about the age of 12 to 16 or so at parks and round streets but I'm now almost 18, 6ft 1 and my WTP is just that little bit to small now which is why I am selling it sadly Frown that and dirt hurts a lot less when you hit the ground Wink so theres the first thing.... Geometry? I'm 6ft 1 and about 12 1/2 stone or so, but I have no idea on frame sizes? I think I want front suspension but I don't no about wheel sizes? 26" vs 24" I think I want signal speed like my BMX as I will only ever be jumping and going down hill not doing a XC run but then again I don't no what geering to run? I only want a rear break really I no you can just remove the front, that's not a problem but I was just wondering what others run? I think I want fairly long bars but a short stem for control? Going back to brakes I definitely don't want "v" brakes, "u" brakes or cantilever's :S times have moved on and after running two sets of hope tech M4's I'm not going back to cables and blocks