Got Any DH Questions? Ask Them Here

PB Forum :: Downhill
Got Any DH Questions? Ask Them Here
Posted: Apr 29, 2023 at 8:40 Quote
indigo44 wrote:
Looking to get my first DH bike. Ive been riding trail for about 8 years and I'd say I'm a pretty capable trail rider. I'm torn between Transition TR11 and a Trek Session 8. I'm 5'5 so the SM TR11 seems like to would fit better(410 reach vs 440 reach on the trek) Do you guys have any suggestions? Is there such thing as a beginner friendly DH bike?

Treks sizing guide puts you in the middle of their small size frame. Transitions sizing guide puts you right at the top of their small or at the bottom of their medium.

Assuming you already own a trail bike, there is little point in downsizing your choice of dh bike, on the grounds that you will ride the trail bike on tamer trails and save the dh bike for properly serious dh tracks. On that logic alone, I'd be looking at the small trek or medium transition in your position.

O+
Posted: Apr 29, 2023 at 20:08 Quote
indigo44 wrote:
Looking to get my first DH bike. Ive been riding trail for about 8 years and I'd say I'm a pretty capable trail rider. I'm torn between Transition TR11 and a Trek Session 8. I'm 5'5 so the SM TR11 seems like to would fit better(410 reach vs 440 reach on the trek) Do you guys have any suggestions? Is there such thing as a beginner friendly DH bike?

What is your trail bike? What kind of riding are you looking to be doing on the DH bike?

Posted: Apr 30, 2023 at 4:20 Quote
I ride a 2018 Bronson V2 150mm travel front and rear. I’m going to be riding Mountain Creek Bike Park in NJ as well as Powder Ridge, Windham and all the North East US bike parks.

Posted: Apr 30, 2023 at 17:46 Quote
Are you looking ride more flow or tech trails?

Posted: Apr 30, 2023 at 19:05 Quote
Michael-co wrote:
I’m interested in all of it. From flow jump lines to monster trucking steep tech.

O+
Posted: Apr 30, 2023 at 21:14 Quote
indigo44 wrote:
Michael-co wrote: