As a bicycle mechanic list your common and worst injuries on the job

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
As a bicycle mechanic list your common and worst injuries on the job
Posted: Jan 27, 2009 at 4:50 Quote
I was sorting out my mates chain beside the trail so the bike was upside down, as i leaned forward to look he rotated the cranks, giving me a nice gash on my forehead, never thought i would get a pedal mark there!!

Posted: Jan 27, 2009 at 5:07 Quote
stabbed by frayed cables, finger caught between chain and chainring ss too so it was damn tight, tightening one of those old quill stems but the bolt must have been sripped so it gave out and i ended up smashing my hand into the bars.

Posted: Jan 27, 2009 at 5:08 Quote
was fixing my rear derailour and my finger got stuck betwen the chain and the thingy... ouch idk how it didnt digg through my skin... it hurt like crap though... :S
oh and btw i'm not a mechanic... yet xD

Posted: Jan 27, 2009 at 5:47 Quote
poked a sharpened spoke into my finger lol and poked stupid frayed cables under myskin

O+
Posted: Jan 27, 2009 at 18:43 Quote
I've had the rotor slice and plenty of the frayed cable poke. But what happened to the guy next to me one time was awful. Rim tape was off and he was cutting the spokes to put a new rim on the hub. When he cut the first spoke it shot through the meaty part of his hand between the thumb and other 4 fingers. Right through, nipple first. And one time at crankworx one of the rocky techs sprayed the wall of the tent with blood when he got his finger in the rotor.

Posted: Jan 27, 2009 at 18:46 Quote
lol i like it when the cable fray things get under your fingernails, feel great. haha

Posted: Jan 28, 2009 at 13:42 Quote
leverfingers wrote: