Powered by Outside

Climbing - I'm terrible at it.

PB Forum :: Fitness, Training and Health
Climbing - I'm terrible at it.
O+
Posted: Jul 23, 2018 at 22:34 Quote
I'm in the same boat. I've been riding DH for more than 2 decades and just recently bought new bike that I can pedal the trails with. I've only been a few rides so far, but I'm incredibly disappointed in my complete lack of fitness and inability to do any kind of climbing. Long climbs, short, technical, steep... I suck at them all and am embarrassed about how bad I am...so I just ride alone. Confused

Hopefully I can figure it out.

Posted: Jul 24, 2018 at 7:57 Quote
srh2, don't sweat the fitness. Just ride. The more you ride, the more fit you get, the more you ride. Smile Best advice is to ride your ride. Find a group that doesn't care how fast you climb and hang with them. You'll get stronger and build endurance. I think I'm fit, then I ride with people who are WAAAAY more fit than I am and I feel weak. But I'm stronger than others.

And welcome back to riding.

O+
Posted: Jul 24, 2018 at 14:09 Quote
Poulsbojohnny wrote:
srh2, don't sweat the fitness. Just ride. The more you ride, the more fit you get, the more you ride. Smile Best advice is to ride your ride. Find a group that doesn't care how fast you climb and hang with them. You'll get stronger and build endurance. I think I'm fit, then I ride with people who are WAAAAY more fit than I am and I feel weak. But I'm stronger than others.

And welcome back to riding.

You're right! Thanks for the kind words and encouragement Smile

Posted: Oct 12, 2018 at 12:49 Quote